Cart 0


2.499,00 kr

NB! This is a preorder item - Releasedate is February 17th 2023

Deicide is an American Death Metal band formed in Tampa Florida in 1987 by drummer/composer Steve Asheim, and guitarist brothers Eric and Brian Hoffman as “Carnage.” They then hired bassist/lyricst/vocalist Glen Benton and became “Amon,” later changing the band name to Deicide in 1989. Prior to becoming Deicide, the band recorded the “Feasting the Beast” 8-track demo in Benton’s garage and started playing some local gigs in Tampa. In 1989, they recorded their second demo, “Sacrificial” at Morrisound with producer Scott Burns. Benton reportedly strormed into Roadrunner Records’ A&R man Monte Conner’s office and presented him with the demo, saying “sign us, you fucking asshole!” The next day contracts were issued and the band’s name changed to Deicide at the request of the label.

As Deicide the band released their self-titled debut album in 1990, which was also produced by Scott Burns. The debut featured re-recorded versions of all six of the “Sacrificial” tunes that got them signed. Both Hoffman brothers played technical solos at fast speeds with overlapping riffs, which gave the band the definitive heavy sound and complex song structures. This lineup remained intact until November of 2004, in the wake of increasing issues between Glen and the Hoffmans, allegedly regarding royalties and publishing. The Hoffman brothers later went on to reform Amon.

The band rose to mainstream success in 1992 with their second album, “Legion,” and is credited as the second-best-selling Death Metal band of the Soundscan era, after Cannibal Corpse. Since their debut in 1990, the band has released twelve studio albums, one live album, two compilations and two DVDs. In November 2003, their first two albums, “Deicide,” and “Legion,:” were ranked second and third place in best-selling Death Metal albums of the Soundscan era. The band is known for their controversial lyrics, which cover topic such as Satanism, anti-Christianity, and blasphemy. Their lyrics have resulted in bans, lawsuits and criticism from religious groups.

ROG will release the first Roadrunner Years vinyl retrospective that will include all their studio + live albums on the label from 1990-2001 plus the Feasting the Beast EP. Many of the albums have never seen a proper release on vinyl.

• First vinyl collection of the band’s Roadrunner years albums from 1990-2001
• Includes their 7 Roadrunner albums plus the Amon/Deicide “Feasting the Beast” EP
• First official worldwide vinyl releases of: In Torment In Hell, Insineratehymn, When Satan Lives, and first North American vinyl releases of: Serpents Of The Light & Once Upon The Cross.
• Box includes: a special customized outer box, 7 single LPs and 1 double LP, an exclusive poster, an insert with tracks/credit information and a Deicide sticker sheet in an envelope.
• Limited and individually numbered

Run Out Groove Records 2023